I have the feeling that humanity is much more powerful than it used to be centuries ago. We fight diseases and hunger. We have buildings that are not dependant on atmospheric conditions, we live longer, and we travel fast around the globe and many more. Of course one can guess about many other things that we do and things that might be called mastering the environment. But I see also paradox in our achievements. We are getting more and more fragile. For instance you can take the simplest things that make our life easier – electricity, water supply and sewerage – they all come in mysterious way inside my house. If it was thousand years ago I would have build my house by my own. Now if electricity stops everything in my house is dead and I can do nothing to make it work. Everything is more complex and more fragile. We are loosing the simplicity and we are becoming more and more technologically dependent. I am not sure if this is so good.




Leave a Reply.